Garlic update. And the winner is…

Albigensian Wight and Solent Wight are by far my favourite from the home grown garlics so next year these are what I plan to grow.  Both had nice big bulbs earlier than the rest (even though Solent is a late variety) and both are soft necked so keep well, in fact from the first year I planted garlic we still have 2 bulbs of Solent Wight left and they are a still OK, although with so much nice fresh garlic now ready it’s unlikely we will eat them, I will probably stuff them into the next chicken I cook as I can’t face throwing them out.

For more information on how I grow garlic check out this post. 

Recently, the spare bed wasn’t very inviting for guests to stay (but keept the Vampires away!) as it looked like this:

DSC_0242

I had brought some of the garlic indoors from the greenhouse as with all the recent rain I wanted to make sure everything was spread out properly for drying and our spare room has one wall of glass so gets pretty hot.  

DSC_0248

Last weekend I took it all down and plaited the soft necked and tied the hard necked into bundles.  I was a bit short of string so they aren’t tied very nicely, but you get the idea, I will buy some raffia at some point and tidy them up.  I plait the same way as I used to try and french plait my hair when I was a teenager – badly!  I see there are lots of on-line instructions for this if you just google it.  I am not opting out here, honestly, but my method is a bit make-it-up-as-you-go-along and there are lots of great tutorials on how to do it properly.  The rest have just been trimmed, very roughly, and will be used first.

DSC_0253

So, with last year’s all indoors and stored in a cool out of sunlight spot I deiced to pre-order for sowing this Autumn.  I have ordered:

Albigensian Wight – Softneck

Solent Wight – Softneck

and, just for fun, a set of wild garlic to plant under the trees.  All have been ordered from The Garlic Farm and should be delivered from September onwards.  I see that they have included smaller planting Starter Packs which is great as I struggled to plant up their full size ‘Garlic Lover’s Growing Pack’ and I have a decent sized garden.

Whilst in pre-order mode I have also ordered 

Shallot – Longer

Red Onion – Garnet

from good old Thompson and Morgan for dispatch December onwards.

Finally, whilst in ‘order’ mode I wanted to mention that there are seed and plant sales on everywhere so it’s a great time to go and buy your seeds.

3 thoughts on “Garlic update. And the winner is…

  1. Pingback: Final Autumn Vegetable Planting…oh and garlic… « Rock Cottage Year

  2. Pingback: July Eating… « Rock Cottage Year

  3. Pingback: Garlic, potatoes and shallots… « Rock Cottage Year

Leave a Reply

