May eating…

DSC_0305

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I have just picked the first broad beans from a sowing last September.  I planted 2 beans per bucket (drilled with holes) of ‘Super Aquadulche’ in John Innes 2 compost and after they germinated in the greenhouse put them outside, in a sheltered spot for the winter.  I did a second sowing in April, direct outside in more buckets of compost (this time I am trying 3 beans per bucket – we’ll see how they go) that should be ready for picking early summer.  Next year I hope to find a good scarlet broad bean so I can maybe grow it among the flowers as I think they will look great.  Today’s handful are going into a noodle soup for dinner, along with some pak choi ‘Mei Quing Choi’ that is also ready to eat (in fact yesterday I planted pak choi seeds ready to replace any that I pick in an old gutter laying alongside the raised bed so as to keep an ongoing supply throughout the summer).

DSC_0301

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Also ready in the garden are spinach ‘Bordeaux’, mixed salad leaves and the rhubard is still going strong.

One thought on “May eating…

  1. Pingback: June eating… « Rock Cottage Year

Leave a Reply

