The Rewards…

I had missed the fact is was a bank holiday weekend until someone mentioned it on Thursday at the Pre-school door so what a bonus weekend!  It was the perfect opportunity on Saturday for an impromptu meal outdoors at our new table with fresh salad from the garden.  

DSC_0304

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We bought our garden furniture a few weeks ago as ordered by my husband from The Garden Furniture Centre.  I really recommend it, it was reasonably priced and was delivered and put together by a lovely Polish lad.  Picture the scene…my husband is working from home so he can be there for delivery should I be on Pre-school run.  Nice polite Polish lad turns up in van, 6′ 5″ husband wonders out wearing fluffy ‘comfy pants’ (ie old joggers that are about 2 inches too short) to deal with delivery.  Polite Polish lad walks into garden carrying HUGE box with massive table on his back, my husband pottering behind eating a one of the kids ‘Fab’ ice lollys.  I then do lots of manic “for God’s sake help the poor man” gestures as husband looks at me confused.  Long story short the furniture was delivered, unpacked and all the rubbish taken away in recored time by the nicest most polite delivery man,  I was impressed,  I rushed out with big tip which he seemed genuinely delighted to be given.  We have waited a few years for decent garden furniture and it makes a big difference to how we use the garden, having a table that seats us all and guests.

DSC_0301

 

 

DSC_0307

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Yesterday we sat outside and ate the first salad leaves from the garden, along with a bean salad (containing our own broad beans) and potato salad with lovely spring onions ‘North Holland Blood Red’ which have been growing since last Autumn (I sow these every few weeks wherever a space appears).  The salad leaves are grown in apple crates and are cut and come again so that I can keep trimming the big leaves off and have a continuing supply.  Below are Lettuce Cos ‘Green Oak Leaf‘, Lettuce ‘Reine de Glace‘, Mustard ‘Red Frills‘ and Mibuna.  To add a pretty touch I grow Viola Tricolour ‘Heartsease’ in a pot to add to salads or freeze in ice cubes for summer drinks.  Once I have lifted the 3 apple crates growing garlic I will also sow salad in these.

DSC_0314

7 thoughts on “The Rewards…

    • Hi there, the red frilly leaf is Mustard ‘Red Frills’ it can be eaten, as above, raw in salads or grown larger and cooked in stir fries. Hope that helps. Beth 🙂

      • thanks a lot. I’ll see if I can find it in the U.S.
        And an irrelevant question to this post. I always have a gap for cutflowers between the last of tulip,lilac,and early summer flowers. Wonder if you have
        any suggestions.I do have some columbine and oriental poppy and iris in
        bloom,but otherwise rather bare. By the way I live in seaside massachusetts, the climate may be different from yours but the sequence of flowering shouldn’t change anyways.

      • I had a good think about your question and in all honesty I’m afraid I don’t. My border right now is really just shades of green, I too have columbines and poppies on the way, next to flower for me are the Alliums, of which ‘Purple Sensation’ is my favourite but it’s a pretty poor show really. You’ve got me thinking now, I will be on the hunt for some future ‘fillers’ between the spring and summer flowers. Beth

  1. Thank you Beth.
    Or, perhaps I just need to be patient. (But I will definitely plant some allium this fall. Mine have disappeared for a few years now.) I am beginning to think your
    blog is the best I’ve come across…gives me much inspirations and great ideas. Love your anemone coronaria. I’ve only had lukewarm success with them. Most likely it is too cold here to plant in the fall. At any rate I shall not give up, the flower is just way too gorgeous. Reading up on a bulb forcing book, I will give that a try with anemone. Happy planting! – Lillian

    • Hi Lillian, thanks for such a lovely comment, I’m really glad you’re enjoying reading my blog. I must say, we have quite a mild climate here in the South of the UK, my family are from (and still live) in the North, where it’s much cooler and my Mum hasn’t had much luck with anemone coronaria either, the cold winters always kill of the tubers. I often put a long cloche over mine (as they are planted in rows in my cutting patch) when we are due very cold temperatures. Hope the bulb forcing works! Beth

Leave a Reply

