June’s Fragrant Flowers…

 

Fragrant June Flowers

Fragrant June Flowers

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Allium ‘Purple Sensation’ is already gone although the other alliums are coming into flower.  There are touches of red in the borders to add to the blues and purples of May but the main flowers right now are the wonderfully fragrant Roses and Sweet Peas.  I grow (as pictured above from left to right) the climbing bourbon rose ‘Rosa Zephirine Drouhin’ which is planted with honeysuckle ‘Lonicera x heckrottii Gold Flame’ next to my bench in the vegetable garden (in time, to climb over the fence whilst smelling lovely) the gallica roses ‘Rosa Charles de Mills’ and ‘Rosa Tuscany Superb’ are both in the top border.

Sweet peas climb over the arches in the vegetable garden.  I started them indoors last October, first by soaking the seeds overnight in water, then planting 2 seeds to a toilet roll filled with seed compost, standing in a tray (I figured this acts as a kind of root trainer, to grow long roots…it has worked for me so far) I keep them covered with news paper until they germinate and usually on the kitchen counter  where it’s warm.  Once germinated I uncover (as soon as the first green appears) and move them into the greenhouse.  I pinch out the tip when there are about 3 or 4 pairs of leaves to promote side shoots. I pretty much leave them too it, I sometimes plant them up into a pot of they start to get big, and then plant them out in March during some mild weather.  The aim for about 4 plants per leg of my arch (so 2 toilet rolls if both seeds germinated).  Once they start flowering you need to keep picking, or at least pull of the dead flowers to stop them from creating seed pods, that way you will get a longer flowering period.  Above is sweetpea ‘Matucana’ which has an amazing smell and in my opinion lovely colour. 

Don’t forget to dead-head your roses to keep them flowering as well!

Leave a Reply

