June eating…

Potato barrels ready for harvesting.

Potato barrels ready for harvesting.

The potatoes are ready, they flowered a couple of weeks back and today I lifted the bottom part of my potato planter so see a lovely white Charlotte potato all ready to eat, so I fished about some more and managed to pull out enough for the boys tea.  I love this method of growing as the planters allow you to remove a few tubers at a time rather than having to turn out a whole bag.  I tend to go carefully though as I feel once you create some space you allow the slugs to move in and eat.  I did put slug nematodes all over the garden (and in all pots) a couple of weeks ago but noticed a few lurking around the base of the potato planters.  It also looks like Early Blight is setting in and I would rather this doesn’t move over to the tomatoes (more on that in another post).

The first glimpse of new potatoes - sorry about the photo quality!

The first glimpse of new potatoes - sorry about the photo quality!

Also ready at the moment are sugar snap peas from the first sowing (March – the second sowing are still in gutter waiting to be planted out).  I am making a point of picking them every couple of days to keep the supply coming, they are so tasty I eat them raw whilst pottering about the garden.  We still have plenty of pak choi which I replace with a seedling each time I pull one up, cut-and-come-again salad and spring onions.  Finally, the first sowing of broad beans (‘Super Aquadulce’ sown last Autumn), have finished but the second sowing from February are ready to take their place.

The boys tea - to be washed and cooked obviously!

The boys tea - to be washed and cooked obviously!

Leave a Reply

