July Flowers…

The July borders are a bit of a let down to be honest.  The only real patch of interest are some bright touches of red provided by Crocosmia ‘Lucifer’ (which I confess to love, hence the new header) and some Potentilla ‘Gibson’s Scarlet’.  Both look nice though against the dark brown Smoke Bush and acid green Alchemilla Mollis.  I will avoid photographing the rest of the borders as I have cut most back and it looks a bit sparse to say the least, I have invested in new seeds from Sarah Raven to get some added colour for next year for planting in Autumn.

DSC_0255

The cutting garden is still doing it’s thing and producing one of my favourite vases of the year, a mix of Helianthus Annus/Sunflower ‘Red Sun’, Amaranthus Caudatus ‘Viridis’ and the forming seed heads of Ammi Majus (which is basically posh Cow Parsley).  I have ordered seeds for Helianthus ‘Chianti’ for next year which should be be an even darker sunflower and hope to grown dill, for the flowers to go with it.  The trick is to pinch out the tips when the plants are about 15/20cm tall in order to get lots of medium sized heads instead of one massive one if you are growing these for the house.

DSC_0281

My final photo is of the pots by the bench in the vegetable patch as they are looking rather nice at the moment:

DSC_0251

Here I grow Viola Tricolour ‘Heartsease’ which I grow to both look pretty and to decorate salads (as they are an edible flower) and behind are the lovely bright pink Verbena ‘Sissinghurst’ which I understood last year would probably not survive the winter so I put the pots in the greenhouse and all of them have made it – hurrah!

2 thoughts on “July Flowers…

    • hi misty. glad you like the photos. the flowers from the last shot are in my kitchen, where i spend most of my day and they really brighten the place up.

Leave a Reply

