Cucumbers…

Every year the cucumbers sneak up on me and it wasn’t any different this time around.  I noticed early last week that a few cucumbers were forming on the ‘Burpless Tasty’ plants (the ‘La Diva’ are a little behind, but not by much) and thought it wouldn’t be long to wait for our first crop, then Mr C noticed on Friday there wasn’t just one, but two whopping great cucumbers ready for munching.  As his reward Mr C got to eat one (he loves them and ate the whole thing in one sitting) and I used the other to make a cucumber dressing for a posh picnic I was going to at Glynbourne with ‘the girls’.

Cucumber dressing is one I make a lot during the summer, we are growing 3 plants of each variety which is quite a lot as they tend to be prolific and apart from C no-one else likes to munch them whole and plain, it’s taken from the Wagamama cookbook and lasts about 7 days stored in the fridge.

225 ml rice vinegar

225 ml water

125 g sugar

2.5 cm piece of ginger root, peeled and sliced

1 clove of garlic peeled and sliced

Put all the above in a pan, bring to the boil then season with a pinch of salt and simmer gently for a couple of minutes until the sugar has dissolved.

Cool in the fridge.

Once cold add:

225g cucumber grated

6 spring onions sliced

1 or 2  large red chilli finely chopped (I removed the seeds).

I then eat it poured over salmon (often hot smoked fillets) and salad, usually with quite a few raw vegetables in such as red peppers and sliced carrots,  and often with some rice on the side.

I had hoped to take some photos of our lovely picnic but the light was very bright and I only had my iphone with me.  We went totally overboard (as most people do) and trollied folding table, chairs, 3 course meal, champagne, candles, flowers, coffee and chocolates, the works across the beautiful gardens whilst wearing a posh frock and some very high spiky heels.  It was worth it we had great fun although next year we might opt for a picnic rug, cushions and full afternoon tea, that it if my sister is kind enough to invite me again 🙂

4 thoughts on “Cucumbers…

  1. Sounds like a great picnic! The cucumber dressing sounds good too, I shall note the recipe down and hopefully try it if our cucumbers are bountiful – they are some way behind yours at the minute, we have no fruits at all yet. I also like to make tsatsiki from cucumbers, with lots of mint, dill and garlic from the garden also this year hopefully!

    • Hi Sara, thanks for visiting and for leaving a comment. Good idea with the Tsatziki, we did something similar from a Sarah Raven Cookbook but my try the proper thing this time – thanks! I did pickled cucumbers the first year but they were a bit soft for my liking (I prefer a bit of crunch) so I might try ‘fridge pickles’ this time around.

  2. That’s one fabby picninc. You all must have had so much fun.
    I love your cucumber idea, I think I’ll give it a go especially if the weather stays so good. Juliex

    • Oh Julie, we had the best day, I so rarely get to ‘dress-up’ these days so that along with great food and great company was just perfect. I do recommend the dressing, if you quite like hot/sour/sweet kind of things that is, it’s something different anyhow! Bx

Leave a Reply

