Barlotti Beans…

We have already picked and eaten some of our Barlotti Beans fresh but my main plan was to dry them for use over Winter.

Having checked many methods, I understand that picking the beans (when they turn white from green) and drying them in their pods in a bright sunny position is best.  Then remove the beans and dry some more.  As we are lucky here in the South with our weather, I have left them as long as possible outside, hoping to dry some naturally whilst on the stalk, but we are starting to have a few cold mornings so I figured it’s time to bring them in.

I lifted the stalks whole, cut off at ground level (leaving the nitrogen rich roots which will break down over Winter and work as a fertilizer) and have put the lot in the greenhouse, partly because I’d covered the growing seedlings in bird-proof netting early on and this is now intertwined with the plants.  It will be interesting to see if this method works, hopefully the mice wont find a way into the greenhouse or I’m afraid there might not be a lot left!

On the weather front, we had a glorious day yesterday but sadly it has turned to grey dampness today.  I really need to give the garden it’s final clean and prepare any beds needed for Winter.  Lets hope for a few sunny days still yet to come 🙂

4 thoughts on “Barlotti Beans…

  1. Thank you for commenting on my site. I’m checking out yours and I love all your pictures. Your beans are just beautiful!!! We used to shell bird-egg beans when I was little with my mother and I always thought they were so pretty! I’ll be back checking your site now and then.

    • You’re most welcome, your blog is now on my google reader list as I love it! I’ve never grown barlotti beans before, but their prettiness alone has sold me 🙂

    • We have so many mice in the veg garden, I’ve never seen them in past years but this time around they sit in the sun, not even attempting to hide!

      Those beans are mine, all mine 😉

Leave a Reply

