Squash and Pumpkin planting 2011…

I’m very late (by my usual timing) to start the squash and pumpkin seeds but I wanted to hold it off to the last minute so I will be able to clear the earlier crops from the raised beds to make room (they are normally planted in the huge containers I bought especially for the job, but this year I swapped everything around and these have root and salad crops growing in them).

This year I am planting

  • Turk’s Turban
  • Butternut Harrier F1
  • Sweet Dumpling
  • Buttercup
  • Queensland Blue
  • Hooligan
  • Mariana di Chioggia
All pictured above, with the ‘Buttercup’ and ‘Sweet Dumpling’ in the same shot (the images that I have had to ‘borrow’ here are ones that are also on the seed packets so hopefully no-one will mind).
  • Dill’s Atlantic Giant
  • Gem/Rolet

The only changes to my normal list are the Queensland Blue’ (which is to replace the Crown prince’ that I normally grow) and a new pumpkin, Hooligan’ which I think it similar to the ‘Sweet Dumpling’ in that it’s a nice neat size and is orange and white.

The seeds were soaked overnight and planted 2 per 15cm pot in the greenhouse.  The seeds are pushed about 1 inch deep and left to germinate in a warmish spot covered in plastic and kept moist, if both seeds germinate I’ll remove the weakest (the seeds are pushed in vertically to stop them rotting, doesn’t matter which way up) and they will be planted out in June.

Right now I’m getting the garden ready for C’s Birthday lunch, he turned 4 today (where did the time go?!) and M has taken the boys swimming.  I’m quite mean, I refuse to do the big party thing until he gets to school, he doesn’t have any firm friends yet and he’s happy to get his presents and a have just the family here.  I have made a Piñata in the shape of a fish, I think the boys will enjoy being actually allowed to hit something until it breaks 🙂
3 thoughts on “Squash and Pumpkin planting 2011…

  1. Amazing squash. We’re growing Marina di Chioggia and Turks Turban for the first time this year, alongside the old faithful Crown Prince (chopped up one of our last Crown Prince this week to make into a lovely coconut and ginger curry – they last so well! ) and also trying Cornells Bush Delicata, which should be interesting…

    Ours have been planted out for a week now as I sowed them rather early and they were rampant in the greenhouse – hope we don’t have a late frost!

    Love your pinata. Hope the boys (and you!) had lots of fun.

    Sara x

    • Oh good, I just replied to you as a comment again – duh!

      Hi Sara, I’m struggling to get my Marina di Chioggia to germinate (as well as my Queensland Blue) so I’m running out of time to grow them, having started so late. Oh well, all the other’s have come up ok, so we wont be short of squash.

      The pinata was great fun, I’m hoping that F doesn’t expect the same on his b-day though (he’s getting a full on party with his school friends instead). Bx

  2. Hi Sara, I’m struggling to get my Marina di Chioggia to germinate (as well as my Queensland Blue) so I’m running out of time to grow them, having started so late. Oh well, all the other’s have come up ok, so we wont be short of squash.

    The pinata was great fun, I’m hoping that F doesn’t expect the same on his b-day though (he’s getting a full on party with his school friends instead). Bx

Leave a Reply

