April vegetable planting lists 2013…

Here’s how the veg planting lists are looking at the moment:

February & March

  • Tomatoes
  • Peppers
  • Chillies
  • Aubergines
  • Broad Beans
  • Beetroot
  • Shallots
  • Potatoes (start chitting)
  • Peas
  • Radish

I think the only thing I haven’t already mentioned are the Broad Beans, Peas, Beetroot and Radish.  All of these were planted direct, quite recently, when the weather has warmed up and in most cases under cloches.  I am pretty sure the mice will steal the peas, but I can live in hope.

So, that means I am way behind, essentially all those things I would normally plant in March, have been pushed into the April list:

April

  • Carrots
  • Cucumbers
  • Courgettes
  • Spring Onions
  • Lettuce
  • Turnip
  • Pak Choi
  • Herbs
  • Melons
  • Squash
  • Chard (new batch to replace the old ‘Bright Lights’)
  • Kale
  • Broccoli
  • French Beans
  • Barlotto Beans
  • Sweetcorn
  • Spinach (NOT perpetual/beet, which I already have growing)
  • Salad
  • Herbs (any not already planted)

Quite a list really but it can’t be helped, what with the cold start to the year.

I have yet to make up my wooden trough, I keep putting it off but it needs doing, I was also desperately disappointed to find this beauty on-line:

raised_planter_kitchen_garden_living_larderIt’s a ‘Large Larder Raised Planter’ by Sparrow & Finch (their photo) and is almost exactly the kind of thing I was looking for when I bought my cheaper raised planter.  Although it is quite expensive (in terms of my garden budget, that is), it is also rather beautiful and I might well have paid the difference, had I seen it sooner.  Rats.  Never mind, I hope to get mine assembled this weekend, ready for some herbs or salad crops.

bird_table_the_ivy_1

If money were no object, I would so buy their ‘Ivy’ bird table.  A girl can dream 🙂

 

One thought on “April vegetable planting lists 2013…

  1. So organized! The planter is really attractive, but I’m sure yours will look just as good. Amazing bird table, puzzled about the copper band though, I wonder if it’s to stop stray slugs…

Leave a Reply

