Cut Flowers….or Lack of Them…and Wild Flowers…

Sadly, the flower seeds I planted back in late April have done diddly squat.

amethyst-sapphire-cut-flower-bunch_3

In desperation, and because Sarah Raven has an offer on at the moment (ends this Monday, so be quick!), I’ve treated myself to some seedlings.  We are super busy at the moment, and I can’t bare another year without anything decent to cut; to be fair, there is always something from the big border, at least, but I want pretty flowers in the raised beds this year, to brighten up the vegetable patch.

I’ve gone for the Amethyst and Sapphire Mix, which contains:

  • Anchusa ‘Blue Angel’ (Alkinet)
  • Centaurea ‘Blue Boy’ (Cornflower)
  • Verbena bonariensis
  • Salvia viridis ‘Blue’ (Blue Clary)
 dark-cosmos-collection_3
The Dark Cosmos Mix,
chrysanthemum-jewel-collection
and the Chrysanthemum Jewel Collection:

  • Chrysanthemum ‘Blenda Purple’
  • Chrysanthemum ‘Bella Orange’
  • Chrysanthemum ‘Bruno Bronze’
  • Chrysanthemum ‘Littleton Red’
  • Chrysanthemum ‘Smokey Purple’
  • Chrysanthemum ‘Payton Blaze Red’

Clearly these images are from the Sarah Raven website, I’m hoping that’s OK (let me know if it’s not, anyone from the SR team), but as always, I think it’s easier for me to understand the flowers from images and not necessarily the names.  I do know many plant names, but certainly not the subtle colour differences within the variety, so I often email myself the plant order details, with an attached image when I buy something for easy reference.

DSC_0024

DSC_0026

Some wild flower plugs I ordered from Thompson & Morgan have arrived, they are going to have to be planted up in a tray whilst I wait for the moss killer to do its stuff.  I also bought some wild flower seeds, ready to try to create a little meadow patch in the lawn – we’re really going for it this year (or am I trying to avoid mowing some of our half-acre?!).

DSC_0018

The side border is looking splendid as the alliums begin to open.  Shame about the rabbit fence! I’m kicking myself for not taking week by week photos of how things have developed so far here this year, as it would be a good record of my attempt at successional planting.  The top border is looking very green but not a lot else.  I must add new bulbs, especially alliums, in September.

DSC_0004

Finally, we have big plans for the garden, we’ve just decided to tidy the entire of the road side edge.  This is a HUGE undertaking, as it’s riddled with self sewn saplings, ivy climbing everywhere, a low crumbling wall on the far side and many brambles.   It’s also the border to quite a busy rat-run road, so we plan to cut everything back and put a fence along the edge.  Although the huge fir trees mean our garden is very private, it’ll be nice to know it’s also secure.  We then plan to cut all the lower branches off the firs to give quite a lot of new floor space, I hope to plant more bluebells (I put a few in years ago), wild garlic and maybe some wood anemone to create a mini woodland area for the boys to play in.

Oh it’s going to look so pretty, given time and quite a bit of money, but it’ll be worth it 🙂

13 thoughts on “Cut Flowers….or Lack of Them…and Wild Flowers…

  1. A bunch of seeds I planted this year also did not pan out, most notably the lime green and purple nicotiana,and only two blue clary germinated out of 20. Good luck on your cutting patch! And I too plan to order many more Purple Sensation this summer. They do provide lovely color in this “gap” time. -Lillian

    • Hi Lillian, glad it’s not just me. I’ve really struggled in the past with getting nicotiana to germinate, but blue clary normally does well. The good thing is it self-seeds so hopefully you’ll get loads from you 2 survivors next time around! Good luck with the rest of your planned cut flowers. Bethx

  2. Such a lovely pic of your garden with the rainbow Beth. Good luck with the mini woodland plans, sounds like it will be lovely for your family when it’s done. Me and Henry have been doing some coastal walks in Torquay and come across lots of wild garlic and bluebells, is I can imagine it will look really lovely 🙂 hope your enjoying the lovely weather at the mo, safxxx

    • Thanks Saf, the photo is from last year, I think, but I don’t really have any others of the border. I love wild garlic, the smell alone makes me think of wood walks in Yorkshire and we lived very near a massive bluebell wood as kids, so I get quite nostalgic. Bx

  3. It sounds like a wonderful plan for your garden. The cutting flowers are really beautiful colours, and as you must know a meadow is great for beneficial insects (i.e. not a lazy thing at all!) I hope you are having some good days of sun!

    • Ah yes, one for the bees 🙂 Sunny and showers here, almost my favourite weather. Let’s hope it’s more sun only over the weekend! Hope you’re also enjoying some warmth. Bethx

  4. Your plans sound great, it will be great to see the area changing. I have the same dark cosmos mix grown from seeds inside and outside and it is doing very well, and the wild flower mix is almost complete with blue clary, verbena and cornflower – verbena selfseeds like crazy btw. I am trying zinnias this year – dark pink and lime green, they seem easy and fast to germinate.

    • I LOVE zinnias and I have none this year 😦 the seeds didn’t germinate which serves me right for not looking after them properly (they were very old, so I’m not entirely surprised). I hope yours are splendid when they flower later in the year. Bx

  5. Oh, I’m so happy to have found your blog, but I don’t know where you are-as in country, state…I’m not some stranger, coming to gather huge bunches of wild flowers. I never knew you could by wild flower “plugs” I cannot grow anything inside, due to poor lighting conditions. I just hope Thompson & Morgan are in the U.S.. Sorry for babbling, I’m just so HAPPY! ~amy

    • Hi Amy, so glad you like the blog 🙂 I’m UK, I’m afraid (and the South of the UK) and fear Thompson & Morgan only send plants out to us Brits. There must be somewhere in the US that sells wild flower seedlings? or certainly seeds, to sow direct, although it could be a mainly UK trend. Where I’m originally from, in the North of England, it’s all sheep farming and hay meadows so there were huge amounts of wild flowers and I hope to re-create a small bit in the garden. Thanks for dropping by and commenting. Beth

      • Well, I very much enjoyed your blog! I love wild flowers because I grew up in Vermont, which is somewhat similar in climate then Alabama. I will do as you suggest & google wild flower seedlings. Thank you Beth!~amy

Leave a Reply

