Peas and Pests…

Grrr, my attempt at getting the peas started has failed again.

DSC_0015

After the pesky mice ate the ones planted direct in the garden, then those in the greenhouse, I tried the next lot indoors in a gutter.  Two, yes just two out of a good one meter length have grown.  I am not very happy.

DSC_0023

So here we go again, this time with some ‘stunning, delicious!’ purple mangetout.  I am determined to keep them moist and warm.  They are on the kitchen table, the sunniest and warmest spot.  My husband will be pleased.

Also indoors and waiting to be planted out are:

  • Sweetcorn ‘Lapwing’
  • Courgette ‘ Black Forest’
  • Courgette ‘ Zephyr’
  • Cucumber ‘Burpless Tasty Green’
  • Cucumber ‘Tiffany’
  • Cucumber ‘ Cucino’
  • Melon ‘Edonis’

All the above (apart from the corn, which will be planted direct) are waiting for me to go buy soil.  I hate buying soil, I’ve reduced it right down this year by planting as much as possible in already filled pots jazzed up with some natural fertilizer, but I have so many pests and diseases (carrot root fly, blight etc) that some things do need new soil each year and freshly cleaned pots.

In the greenhouse I now have tomatoes, peppers, chillies and aubergines happily growing and not a lot of room for anything else.  I do plan to squeeze the melons and cucumbers in there though.

OK, best go buy that soil 🙂

5 thoughts on “Peas and Pests…

    • That’s brilliant news as I’ve never grown them before, they were a ‘5 star’ rating seed and looked pretty in the photo, so I’m looking forward to seeing how they do for me 🙂

      • It’s the only squash I’ve seen with 10-15 fruits forming at the same time at various stages. Over time in my estimate it can produce up to 5 dozen per season…quite a monster,and very tasty! Good luck with it.

  1. Good luck with the mangetout peas, I hope it works out better this time for you Beth. I can imagine it must be frustrating when things don’t grow and you have spent time and money trying but I reckon these are bound to work out 🙂 I do hope you have a lovely bank holiday weekend and the weather is lovely and sunny for you and your boys 🙂 Safxxx

  2. Oh, good luck with the peas! Mine are growing well and I only sow direct but I went through hoops with the sweet peas, hate mice so much, they even ate the plants! I’ve sown squashes and beans in the greenhouse only last weekend, I am definitely a months delayed. Can’t wait to see your aubergines and melons, so impressive. x

Leave a Reply

