Autumn Planting Lists 2013…

I wrote this post a few weeks ago, before we went away for a long holiday (more on that next).

I am awake on my own in the house, which is a bit of a miracle around here as the boys are normally up at 6am (they have been trained to wait until the clock shows 6, otherwise it used to be even earlier!!) but at nearly 7am, I am sitting quietly in the kitchen, drinking my coffee and watching the wildlife in the garden. Bliss.

DSC_0254 (3)

A little blackbird is eating the pink gooseberries, they were ripe and lovely but as mentioned in the last post, no-one but me is interested and we have no freezer space for crumbles etc so I figure the birds may as well enjoy them.  I have one final redcurrant bush, netted and ripening, and to come later my small handful of apples, the crab apples, blackberries and medlars.  I mentioned this in the last post, but there’s nothing on my family (as in different grafted varieties on one tree) pear or my damson tree, I have no idea why.

I’ve been thinking about my provisional new planting list for the garden and this is what I’ve got so far:

  • Kohl Rabi
  • Radish
  • Spinach (Perpetual & Bordeaux)
  • Turnip
  • Spring Onions
  • Pack Choi (Tatsoi)
  • Kale
  • Chard
  • Fennel
  • Winter Lettuce
  • Herbs
  • Broad Beans (sown in Autumn for next Spring eating)
  • Garlic (must order soon or the best variety will sell out)

I used the great ‘Seeds to Sow Now‘ feature on the Sarah Raven website to help find some vegetable seeds for August/September.

Some of these have already gone in as any later will be too late, but the others I plan to sow when it’s not so bloomin’ hot.

That’s it – a quick post but one to keep my records straight 🙂

2 thoughts on “Autumn Planting Lists 2013…

  1. I used the same planting guide and sowed some red kale promptly. My lettuces however refuse to germinate because the temperature is still high but I am determined to keep going and have my own veg throughout the winter. x

    • It’s brilliant isn’t it, the by month planting guide? I haven’t even tried my lettuce seeds yet, so very late on this one but I was hoping to have some new raised beds built especially for them. There’s time yet….I hope!

Leave a Reply

