Vegetable Planting Lists 2014…

Long time no see.

Why?  Well because I’m rubbish, AND all it’s done here since Christmas is rain…and rain…and rain some more.  The road in front of the boys school has been flooded, prompting a welly wade each morning to get in and some interesting driving to get there.  We are, however, extremely lucky that our house has stayed warm and dry and (mostly) with electricity, which is more than can be said for many poor folk around here, not to mention all those on the south-west of the UK.

DSC_0147

Still, even if I can’t go out and work in the garden (the ground is simply too wet), I can plan, so for the first time this year the seed box has come out so I can see what I hope to grow this year, ideally using up all old seed before buying any new.

Here’s what I’ve got so far (not including succession sowing and in some cases to be started indoors or under cloches):

FEBRUARY

Tomatoes Brandywine, San Marzano, Tigerella & Ildi

Aubergine Money Maker F1 & Slim Jim 

Sweet Pepper Topepo Rosso, Jumbo Sweet F1 Hybrid & Worldbeater

Chilli (I need to buy new seeds, not sure what variety yet)

Artichoke Violette di Chioggia

Cape Gooseberry Giant

MARCH

Spinach Bordeaux

Cucumbers Burpless Tasty Green (I will probably add another variety)

Courgettes Black Forest & Zephyr

Melon Edonis

Radish French Breakfast, Sparkler & Cherry Bell

Broad Beans Crimson Flowered & Super Aquadulce

Kohl Rabi F1 Hybrid

Peas Twinkle, Oasis (you’ve got to roll with it…sorry!), Jaguar, Balmoral & Purple Mangetouts

Herbs Dill, Chives, Garlic Chives, French Sorrel, Thyme, Mint

APRIL

Swiss Chard Bright Lights & White Silver

Beetroot Pablo & Bolthardy

Sweetcorn Lapwing

Spring Onions Welsh Red Stem & North Holland Blood Red

Pak Choi Mei Qing Choi & Rubi

Beans Barlotti

Broccoli Red Arrow & Rudolph & Kailaan No 2

Carrots Yellowstone, Rainbow Hybrid, Purple Haze, Healthmaster & Sugarsnax

Turnip Sweetball & Snowball

Lettuce various varieties

Herbs Thai Basil, Sweet Basil, Winter Savory and many more…

Squash Crown Prince, Sweet Dumpling, Gem/Rolet, Queensland Blue, Turks Turban, Hooligan & Barbara Butternut F1 

AUGUST &  SEPTEMBER

Pak Choi Tatsoi

Fennel Romanesco

Spinach Perpetual (Leaf Beat)

Purslane

ANYTIME

Kale Cavolo Nero & Red Russian

Herbs Parcel, Cress (Bubbles)

There are also potatoes and I’m sure I’ve forgotten many other things.

DSC_0149

April has rather taken over my box, it has been given a section all of its own.  As succession seeds are used the packets will get moved to their ‘next’ timing slot (in a feeble attempt to keep up with the sowing).

DSC_0163

On a totally random note, look when I found in our small loft space yesterday, that, my friends, is the biggest wasps nest ever!  See how happy C is to be holding it.

DSC_0159It’s very pretty close up, you can see all the layers of different wood the wasps have used to create the delicate structure, I hope to get some better photos before donating it to school.

DSC_0147

Since starting this post, a few days ago, we have seen sunshine!  Not huge amounts, but enough to cheer the soul, which along with some happy sewing (new Auricula brooches for the shop) has really made the end of this dismal winter look possible.  Roll on spring 🙂

10 thoughts on “Vegetable Planting Lists 2014…

  1. Wow Beth, that is a HUGE wasps nest! I love the close up picture, if I owned that I’d spend hous drawing it, wonderful! Your new flower brooches are gorgeous and I can completely understand how they cheer you, plus the sunshine today 🙂 thank god the sun has come out again, hope your well and doing ok, safxxx

    • Hi Saf, it is very beautiful close up, I’d send you a chunk but I’m not sure it would survive the travel, it’s like delicate paper and breaks easily when touched. It makes me a laugh, as the wasps strip the wood from our garden furniture, the fence and my greenhouse door, when I looked at the stripes of wood colour in the nest itself, I could imagine which had formally been my bench! Bxx

  2. I’m in the same frame of mind. All you can do is look forward to going outside! I’ve been looking through the Sarah Raven catalogues, prompted by wanting to grow the climbing pumpkins. Unfortunately our garden lost a lot of fencing, so it’s back to basics before much planting. The veg plots wood has rotted too -so I’ve got plans for other raised beds. I don’t know if we’ll ever get anything ready for Christmas let alone March time! I’ve been pinning dreamy ideas instead. Do you use pinterest Beth? Glad to hear you didn’t have any damage from the storms. Other than fencing, we luckily remained dry. x

    • Hi Felicity, I hope you’ve seen some sun in these past days? For me it has made all the difference, I really can see an end to all this rain now and hopefully the ground will start to dry out. Annoyingly, we’ve just had to replace a long length of our fence, it’s not come down but the wooden posts keep rotting as the water comes off our communal drive and keeps them continually wet, another two had broken underground so we’ve had to go for concrete as a replacement (with wooden panels), which looks sooooo ugly, but does it’s job (I’ll be pinning all my climbing plants back up this week to try and hide it!!). I fear, like you, my raised bed wood really needs replacing, but I’m going to pretend I can’t see that and plant up for this year. I do pin, under my shop name (thelinencat) a bit like on twitter, I’m not very active though. Let’s hope the sun keeps coming back – we’ve a day of rain today but I hear sun is due later in the week – hurrah! Bx

  3. You’re very organised, I love your list. You’ve reminded me I need to sow some tomatoes this month, and maybe some broad beans as well. That is a humdinger of a wasps nest, just the kind of thing that boys love.

    • It’s the benefit of blogging, I can ‘copy’ last year’s list then edit it, which really helps or I miss planting the important stuff! Yes, even I was surprised about the size of the nest, once I got over the ‘ick’ feeling after all the dead wasps fell on my head, when I opened the hatch, I saw the beauty in it, they really are amazing to look at close up, I just hope we don’t get them back this year!

  4. Are you still active? I came across your blog and I love the pic of C & the wasp’s nest. I would like to republish it as an avatar for a forum that I am beginning here in Utah. I could change the face if you like. Please call if you would like to discuss this Ed at 435-688-2333 or email to utahstandardnews@gmail.com. Regards, Ed

Leave a Reply

