Black Cardamom Ice Cream…



DSC_0065

The garden is showing all my favourite colours at the moment, I do love a bit of pink, especially at this time of year when the greens are all so zingy.  I’m loving all the bruised colour tulips that were put in last year, I had plenty already but you can never have enough!

DSC_0071

The salsify that I planted for the flowers is also looking rather pretty, it’s in a giant pot at the moment and needs moving into the border at some point, as I am just growing it for the flower and not the root.  There are lilacs and aquilegias, the alliums are about to open and the iris are well on their way, so the pinks and purples will continue for a while yet.

Back the post title.  I made some cardamom ice cream a while ago and thought I’d record the recipe here or I’ll forget how I made it.  Incidentally, at the time of first tasting it I though it was too sweet, but I’ve changed my mind, oh and I think it could have a little more black cardamom in there as well, as I like the very smoky taste, but I’m not sure the boys would be so pleased if I had added more.

Black Cardamom Ice Cream

First I made the custard base:

250 ml double cream

250 ml whole milk

125 g caster sugar

4 egg yolks

5 black cardamom pods, left whole but squished a little

5 green cardamom pods, seeds removed and crushed

1/2 vanilla pod (split with the seeds scraped out, both seeds and pod used)

Follow the instructions for your ice cream maker and make sure it’s been put in the freezer in advance, if needed.

Place the cream (you’ll need another 250ml later), milk, cardamom seeds and vanilla pod into a pan.  Warm until quit hot, but NOT boiling them remove and set aside for at least 30mins to infuse the flavours.  Sieve to remove the cardamon pods, vanilla bean and any larger seeds.

Put the infused cream and milk mixture back into a pan and scald, by heating until just below boiling point, then cool a little.  Meanwhile, beat the egg yolks with the sugar, then add the slightly cooled milk mixture, beating all the time.  Return to the hob and stir gently over a low heat until the custard has thickened and coats the back of a spoon.  Remove and keep stirring as it cools.  Once cold, put into the fridge overnight.

250ml double cream

Caramel (in my case a 380g jar of Bonne Maman Caramel that I got on offer with my shopping, hence the idea to make ice cream with it in the first place, I guess you could make your own) 

The next day, whip 250ml double cream until it forms soft peaks, then fold it into the cold custard mixture.  Pour into the ice cream machine and when nearly set, place into a large freezer container.  Pour over the caramel and lightly turn the mixture with a spoon, so the caramel is swirled into the ice cream (I messed this up a bit, my ice cream wasn’t thick enough so the caramel ended up mostly sunk to the bottom in a puddle).

Freeze.  Eat.

DSC_0051

It’s looking good in the garden.  I need to take photos but it’s too wet out there at the moment.  I’ve planted up one raised bed with a row of barlotti beans (started in the greenhouse, as above), a row of broad beans (too close together, but I’m interested to see if I can get away with it), sweetcorn (x10, all that germinated, and planted in two rows now I know from last year that I can pretend to be the wind and hand pollinate them so I’m less worried about the planting layout) and finally some squash.  No idea what variety, I forgot to label the plants – doh!

I have one bed going with salad crops, beetroot, carrots and alpine strawberries.  Sadly the evil little rabbits got in and ate the lot, but I’m hoping some will survive.  On which note, the postman just called and  his opening line was, “It’s like Watership Down out there!”  he has a point, I really need to put some time into replacing the areas of rabbit fencing that have been dug under.

I’m away most of next week, so will be leaving the watering in the hands of my husband……I am hoping something is still growing when I return 😉

2 thoughts on “Black Cardamom Ice Cream…

  1. Hi Beth, your pink/purple flowers are stunning, so beautiful and have uplifted me at work today 🙂 I went into are rented garden last week and did some weeding which for me is gardening 😉 I have plans to plants some seeds for some flowers in there, but not sure the landlord will approve as I’m not meant to touch the garden, oh well! Have fun on your travels 🙂 safxxx

    • Oh it’s such a shame you can’t do what you like in your rented garden, I mean I guess the landlord has to keep some kind of protection over it, but as long as your not landscaping it, I would think it’s a good thing for you to take care of it! I hope you do get to plant some seeds and that you enjoy it. Bethxx

Leave a Reply

