2015 Vegetable Planting Lists…

So, apparently I post once every two months, which is a bit embarrassing really.  I don’t know what happened…..well, I do, life just got in the way and the very least of my worries has been gardening or writing blog posts, but it’s gone on like this for rather a long time, so I need to fix it.

This year I’m on a determined mission to use up all my old seed, not least because I have no money to buy new, so I’m afraid the list is rather boring.

FEBRUARY

Tomatoes Brandywine, San Marzano, Tigerella & Ildi

Sweet Pepper Worldbeater

Chilli (I’m only growing a couple of plants because they look pretty, so I’m using last years seed that came from a restaurant free with the bill, no idea of the variety)

Artichoke Violette di Chioggia

Broad Bead Crimson Flowered

MARCH

Spinach Bordeaux

Cucumbers Burpless Tasty Green

Courgettes Black Forest & Zephyr

Melon Outdoor Wonder

Radish French Breakfast, Sparkler & Cherry Bell

Kohl Rabi F1 Hybrid

Peas Whatever I’ve got left that the pesky mice don’t steal

Herbs Dill, Chives, Garlic Chives, French Sorrel, Thyme, Mint

APRIL

Swiss Chard Bright Lights & White Silver

Beetroot Pablo & Bolthardy

Spring Onions Welsh Red Stem & North Holland Blood Red

Pak Choi Mei Qing Choi & Rubi

Broccoli Red Arrow & Rudolph & Kailaan No 2

Carrots Yellowstone, Rainbow Hybrid, Purple Haze, Healthmaster & Sugarsnax

Turnip Sweetball & Snowball

Lettuce Various varieties

Herbs Thai Basil, Sweet Basil, Winter Savory and many more…

Squash Crown Prince, Sweet Dumpling, Gem/Rolet, Queensland Blue, Turks Turban, Hooligan & Barbara Butternut F1

AUGUST &  SEPTEMBER

Pak Choi Tatsoi

Fennel Romanesco

Spinach Perpetual (Leaf Beat)

Purslane

ANYTIME

Kale Cavolo Nero & Red Russian

Herbs Parcel, Cress (Bubbles)

Having just done a proper couple of hours tidying in the garden for the first time this year, I see that garlic is already on the go, as it wild garlic, alpine strawberries, horse-radish root, spinach and some rather sad-looking winter vegetables such as chard and turnips.  Other garden news is that the rabbit and mice problem has really become very bad, I’m rather devastated to see the damage the rabbits have done to all the spring flowers, few have survived with their tops intact.

DSC_0143

On a plus note, and trying to bat the laptop screen every time I type, are these two lovelies that we were allowed to bring home from the RSPCA.  They are called Tuppence and Birdie and we’re very happy to have them, I’m hoping they will take over where my last lovely cat left off in keeping the mice and rabbits to a manageable level…..perhaps I should be training them ready for when they are allowed outdoors, although they already stare longingly at the rabbits on the other side of the glass doors.

I’m off to buy soil and get all the February list going, I have a feeling 2015 is going to be a very good year 🙂

6 thoughts on “2015 Vegetable Planting Lists…

    • Hi Lillian – I have been rubbish but I’m glad to be back as well 🙂 We’ve missed all the snow, a lot of the UK has had a nice blanket but Kent has only had the odd flurry that didn’t settle. I can’t lie, I love snow but I’m ready for spring sunshine and warmer weather now. Bethx

  1. Oh Beth, I’m pleased to see your new little furry additions to your brood, there so cute! I’m very envious as I desperately want to get a cat but finances and H don’t want me to. I want to rescue a Persian cat! Or any cat would be great really! Wishing you a wonderful 2015 and a great spring ahead, love Safxxx

    • Hi Saf 🙂 Glad you like the look of the kitties, we’re super excited to have them. I thought a lot about the money, but in the end I figured the weekly food and monthly pet insurance are worth what we get back from having pets – the boys love having them and haven’t had the pleasure of their own kittens before. They get quite a variety of cats at the local RSPCA, it costs money to adopt a cat from there but they come vaccinated, micro shipped, spayed etc and you’re rescuing a pet that needs a home so bonus. Hope you get your own one day, when circumstances allow. Hope all is well with you. Bethxx

      • There so lovely dear Beth, well worth every penny and wonderful company. That’s why I’d like one at home as we used to have one when I was a young and he was wonderful company, he was a rather, ahem, portly puss called ‘Sam Sam’ and was wonderful. He was a right character! Used to follow my mum everywhere, even waited for her down the road. It used to make me laugh as my dad was quite jealous of all the attention Sam used to get from my mum, hehe! They are as you say so worth all the money, your very lucky indeed 🙂 I shall work on grinding down H 😉 Would love to rescue one as its lovely to give them a home and the love they deserve. So chuffed for you, there wonderful 🙂 Hope all is well with you, lots of love, Safxxx

      • I agree, Saf, cats are wonderful company and as I work from home, I really enjoy having little furries about the house, they are a little crazy at the moment and chase about the place as kittens do! When I got my first kitten away from home, I also lived with my then boyfriend and had to work on him a bit to be allowed one – good luck! Bx

Leave a Reply

