Chickens: Little Boys or Little Girls?

We played the game of all amateur chicken keepers and played guess the gender and quite frankly, failed.DSC_0026I did try to photograph the chicks at various stages, but they aren’t very good at sitting still and often present me with a rear view.  I did get some images though, so here’s the little chickies as they were, and now.

The Orpington Bantams

Bowie – named because I was sure she was a boy, when younger.  Oops.DSC_0033DSC_0017Definitely a girl.

Silver or Birch (?!!! Must stop letting my kids name chickens!)DSC_0036DSC_0021Boy. Sadly.

Nameless Chicken (the ‘ugly’ one that I saved from near death when little)DSC_0038DSC_0020Also a boy.DSC_0034They’ve grown a lot, even since the above photos and the boys have started to square up to each other, which is interesting to watch. I’m waiting for them to feather out a bit more, so they look a little more handsome, then I’ll try to find them new homes.DSC_0027The Pekins

(Humphrey) Bogart ‘Bogie’DSC_0016DSC_0008I was positive, a boy….still am, I think…but he’s showing no characteristics of a boy and is the softest drip of a chicken, loves a sit and cuddle. He’s one of my favourites.

Chick One (yet to be named)DSC_0011DSC_0023DSC_0011 (1)Girl – hurrah!

Chick Two (also waiting to be named)DSC_0024DSC_0013Another girl.

So, three girls and three boys. The fourth Orpington died at a few weeks old, sadly.

It’s been a fun process hatching the eggs, but the dihlema of what to do with the boys is a problem. I did know it would be, so I am ready for it, but as we are now at our chicken maximum it’s not a process we’ll repeat again, at least, not for some years.

One thought on “Chickens: Little Boys or Little Girls?

  1. I’m so sorry I must’ve totally missed this post, I. Rubbish these days at keeping up with it all. So glad to read your blog again though Beth, it is my favourite:) I’m glad to see the boys are now getting on well and are staying with you 🙂 it’s amazing how much they have grown,xxx

Leave a Reply

